Fall Harvest

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated the site. Overall I had some decent results with my tomatoes. Some grew better than others but I managed to get some good ones. The costolutto tomatoes have win the award for perseverance, they’ve continued to grow through anything nature has thrown at them. They aren’t my favorite but they’re better than most because I grew em!

Lastly, we loved the Kula sweet onions. They never got very big but they were very tasty.

20111124-124600.jpg

The black from Tula plant looked amazing when it was first growing but none of them turned out quite as healthy as I thought they would have.   They were thin skinned and had a lot of water content.  However, they did taste pretty amazing and they look cool as well.

20111124-124615.jpg

20111124-124622.jpg

My two favorites have been the persimmon…

20111124-124632.jpg

and the german strawberry…

20111124-124702.jpg

We also grew some amazing cucumbers that produced heavily for a few weeks and then the plants started to die off.

20111124-124724.jpg

The square foot garden has been really great, I can’t say enough about it.  I hate pulling weeds and this system all but eliminated that problem.  The trellising system is also key as it allows upward growth in a small space.

Overall I’m still continuing to learn.  I think I watered my tomatoes too much and that caused some cracking issues.  It has been nice to see some progress either way.  Aloha!

About Oceanic Garden Creature

When I'm not surfing, I'm digging in the dirt.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Harvest

  1. Jane says:

    Beautiful harvest! Your tomatoes look great!

  2. Barry says:

    Aloha! I’m finally home for real, and aching to have my hands on the cool toys I packed into a really tardy shipment to Maui. I really appreciate your raised bed square foot approach, very much like I’m trying to use over here in breezy Pukalani. Your tomatoes look really good, with great stem growth. I would suspect the soil mix hasn’t settled quite yet, so there’s likely some change in the availability of you phosphates and potassium at various times – I’ve hit that more than once in the recent past! my sincere recommendation is to keep adding compost, preferably homemade, rather than try to estimate how to titrate the ionic availablity at a given pH. There really is no wrong way once you grasp the concept of Mel B’s square foot method. I’ve loosely followed his precepts over many years, with steadily improved results as I go. Now that I’m in Maui, I hope to put his advice to better use.
    Best wishes for a great year of SFG!

  3. Barry says:

    Oops – that was supposed to be “A Tradewinds Garden”

Leave a comment